I am – Friday Fictioneers

It’s Friday Fictioneers time! The challenge is to write a 100-word story in response to a weekly photo prompt chosen by our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Follow the link to her blog for more information. Thank you to all who take the time to read, like, or comment.

HPIM0533.JPG

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

I am

I am insignificant.
I am the only thing I care about.

I am alone
In the company of all.

I have known more pain than many;
Less than most.

I do not know if love exists.
I trust that she does.
I do not know if God exists.
I hope that he doesn’t.

I can’t abide hypocrites.

I am selflessly selfish.
A martyr to my own cause.

I am a grain of sand.
Buried at the bottom of the pile, weeping
“Look at me now.”
I would climb to the top
To shout the same thing.

I am no poet.

Leave a Reply

