The Phoenix – Friday Fictioneers

It’s Friday Fictioneers time! The challenge is to write a 100-word story in response to a weekly photo prompt chosen by our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Follow the link to her blog for more information. Thank you to all who take the time to read, like, or comment.

This is my first post in a while. I was off trying to write a dissertation. I don’t recommend it.

2017 10 14

PHOTO POMPT © Douglas M. MacIlroy

The Phoenix

“Oh please,” she laughed. “You’re writing a story about a phoenix?”

“It’s a metaphor,” I said. “The phoenix represents my struggle against adversary.”

“Adversary? You mean adversity, moron. And what adversity? All you do is stay in your room playing video games and reading comics.”

She laughed again and her features morphed: her eyes became black voids, her mouth pinched into a sharp beak, her auburn hair caught aflame. I reached out a hand to smother the fire before it consumed me.

“Don’t touch me, freak! Mum!”

“Leave your sister alone.”

“She’s not my sister,” I muttered. “She’s my adversary.”

22 thoughts on “The Phoenix – Friday Fictioneers

Leave a Reply

